Foolproof Job Interview Success – 4 Step Preparation Process

Robert Craig
5 min readSep 21, 2019
Photo by Headway on Unsplash

I wrote earlier (What Makes a great CV – 2 Differentiators to get you that Job) about how to improve your CV to secure a job interview.

What’s next though?; How do you ensure that this one shot goes smoothly during the crucial face to face part of the recruitment process.

It should be easy (!), all you need to do is convince the interviewer that you will make their life easier by them selecting you for the job. But how do you go about that?

For many years, all the interviews I went for consisted of me preparing to justify my work background, skills and accomplishments against the role. I was always on the back foot. Sometimes I convinced them and was offered the job; sometimes I wasn’t.

“All you need to do is convince the interviewer that you will make their life easier by them selecting you for the job”

My last interview was for a role I really wanted, the stakes were higher than they had ever been before. I couldn’t be on the back foot for this one. I received some of the best interview advice I have ever heard from a friend. He showed me how to get on the front foot.

--

--

Robert Craig

"Not Doing it for the Clicks" Stories based on my experiences; making sense of the world of work. Gen Xer - Technology/Personal Development/Careers/Talent